Misrepresented Views - 25

I feel like I keep misrepresenting my views to people. Not just internet strangers, but to people I actually know really well and who understand me. I defended an ideology that I don't agree with in front of my mother, not because I think it's a good one to follow, but because I thought the criticisms that a guy in a video we were watching together was giving weren't valid. I feel like I seemed closed-minded, rather than just, I don't know, critically thinking.

A similar thing happened a few days ago when I was talking to one of my close friends. I was talking about my (to put it lightly) dislike of certain American political institutions and said things that I guess were interpreted as nihilistic ranting rather than an expression of my feelings. I cleared things up after the two of us discussed some ideological differences that we had, but it's still worrying.

I'm worried that it's how I actually sound when I talk about things by default. I'm worried that I'm not self-aware. Not really sure what to do, other than observe myself a bit, I guess.

(It feels a little strange to put this up on a public blog, but whatever, I'm pretty solidly anon - or rather, pseudon. I'm sure that someone reading this could recognize my writing and connect some of the information I share here, but I have plausible deniability even if they were to find my public journal on some obscure blogging platform.)


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from branches
All posts