Goals before action - 89

It's a simple, obvious thing, but I find myself not doing it, a lot: setting a goal for what I want to get done before I start doing.

For example, trying to figure out a notes system. Rather than setting out the things that I want the system to do, and then either researching or building my own system, I have just read and read and read about different systems, none of which are particularly helpful when I don't know what I'm trying to do with the system.

Now that I'm thinking about it, I'm realizing its importance everywhere:

  • talking to friends online: what do we want to do? catch up? have good conversations? mess around?
  • spending my weekends: what do I want to achieve? work? get outside and do something?
  • forming habits: what do I want my habits to help me with? healthier sleep? better diet? more focus on mental health? all of the above and more? ...and on, and on, and on.

I guess it could be called "spending your life intentionally." The only problem here is that, after a while, setting intentions for things gets tiring. Everything does. :P

-branches


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from branches
All posts