Be a Shrewd *and* Kind Mofo In The Year of The Rabbit

Happy Lunar New Year! This year, 2023, will be the year of the rabbit. I’ve been studying some Chinese astrology, and mind you I have a long ways to go before I can say I’ve mastered it, but I will say a few words about the rabbit. Both my sister and father are rabbits, so this zodiac animal has always been more intriguing to me.

  • What strikes me the most about the “rabbit “personality is they are characterized by both a popular spirit and great compassion. And at the same time, they are cunning as fuck.

  • Despite any changes in mood, they're always quick to pivot, sharp, yet also kind. The makings of a great diplomat — all because they are inherently very flexible. I think this is very true, and my father and sister both have very thoughtful and measured temperaments. It's impossible to make them angry, compared to how my mom and I can both be more hot headed.

  • One could say this rabbit disposition is the result of naturally developed intuition and being able to read the room, but ultimately I think the rabbit just knows how to balance both sides of themself. The masculine and the feminine both have a seat at the table.

  • I learned a lot from my dad as a kid by how good he was at being cheerful but how he could turn it off if he sensed disrespect pretty instantly. He indirectly showed me that you could fight with flowers until the time for you to fight with thorns.

  • The rabbit is guarded without ever being overly prickly about such a guard.

  • The rabbit also knows how to put themselves first without compromising others.

Honestly, I feel like the rabbit is self preservative yet also extremely generous. These are great attributes. The zodiacal correlations in terms of transits tend to be Jupiter in Aries or Jupiter in Taurus, and these people are often characterized as self sufficient yet full of revitalizing energy.

In general, the rabbit is a great animal to characterize this year, as we go into Saturn in Pisces — in fact, their qualities are correlated with the sign Pisces.

The dreamy, yet practical side is seriously how I see Pisces moon behave....

This is a time to really figure out how to speak softly and carry a big stick. How to dance with your beliefs without clenching them, how to trust without giving away your heart. How to be disciplined yet also be light and free.

I think it's a great time to be like the rabbit.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Crystal D
All posts