The Little Things

Little things make big impacts

Photo by Jessica To'oto'o on Unsplash

I don't think I appreciate the little things enough. It mostly has to do with not slowing down and taking the time to soak in the moment. What's around me? What do I see? What do I smell? How am I even breathing?

For all my pursuits around personal development via minimalism and writing, trying to be a better me, I'm lacking in this one very big thing: taking time to appreciate the little things.

Even though I pay someone to keep my yard well manicured, how many times in the past week did I really go out there and look at my lawn? Walked up and touched my trees? Admired the vibrant colors that brighten up our flower beds? I can honestly say, zero.

When the sun is shining, I can drive my car with the windows down and sunroof open so that I can enjoy the warmth and admire the blue sky. When it's raining, I love the rain, and when it rained last weekend, why didn't I sit on the patio and watch the rain quench the ground around me?

Even thought it'll rain again, I missed an opportunity to watch that rain that I'll never get again. And, it's not just about nature and weather, it's also about moments with the ones I love, the laughter I'm sharing with friends, or even the unexpected but welcome five minutes of quiet.

And sure, I'm busy. But, I don't like the idea of missing the little things that I otherwise don't notice any more. I can't live a life of FOMO, but I can live a life more in tune with the people, nature, and good things I have all around me every day.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Jay's Journal
All posts