Weekly Accountability For April 3rd, 2019

Write it down to make it real

Photo by picjumbo.com from Pexels

Unplanned Update

The below post I'd written most of earlier in the week. However, today I had an interesting turn of events. The potential employer who wasn't willing to entertain my salary requirements has contacted my recruiter to say "they'll do what it takes to make it work."

I was surprised, stunned, even shocked. I asked the recruiter what changed, and he said that the CEO said that no matter what ideas he had, and what he tried to do to move forward without me, it just all came back to that I was the guy for this position.

That's a huge vote of confidence, and I'm truly humbled.

So, I've got a meeting on Monday as I have to at least listen to what they have to say. It still needs to make sense for me to move, but it sounds like they're now a little more flexible than they were previously.

Ok, back to my originally scheduled post...

The Idea

I've just come up with an idea for a series of posts called "Weekly Accountability". It'll be a post every Friday that recaps my goals, what I've done that week to help reach my goals, and what I can do better next week to help me reach my goals.

Sure, it sounds an awful lot like journaling, but I'd like to chronicle my journey from where I am now, and where I want to be. Goals may change, as well as priorities, but I intent to blog about all of that, because change is still a constant in our universe, and I'm in no way immune.

If this weekly series helps you in some way, or if you'd like to provide some encouragement, or even hold me accountable for not doing what I said I would during a given week, feel free to contact me. You can email me at jayfromlisted@criptext.com.

And if you'd like to do something similar, whether it be to journal on Listed or on your own, I'd love to hear from you. I'd totally be willing to receive regular updates on your goals and progress, and be an accountability partner for you as well.

Whether you post on Listed, or want to email me weekly, let's do this. Maybe together, we can be become better versions of ourselves for those that love us, and even those that don't.

Now, as part of my weekly accountability for this week, I'm going to state my goals that I'm working toward, and will update my progress next week.

Author's Note: These goals may very well change depending on the outcome of Monday's meeting. Not entirely, as I'm not giving up on becoming a freelance business writer, but perhaps some of the dates of achievement.

Next Week's Goals (10 May 2019)

  • Meet with CEO of prospective new company (added today)
  • Enroll in professional copywriting course
  • Continue to support my pro bono client with new content this week
  • Do the minimum required at my current day job, allowing myself to not have to be the best
  • Do something for somebody unexpected and positive
  • Start a new phase of decluttering and minimizing

Goals For The Month of May

  • If offer is received for new position, arrive at a decision
  • Complete half of my copywriting course
  • Define business niche and create ideal client profile
  • Establish content strategy for upcoming business writing service website
  • Made at least 4 contacts for upcoming business writing service
  • Solidified professional freelance profiles for LinkedIn, Upwork, etc.

Short Term Goals (within 6 months)

  • Complete a professional copywriting course by July 1st, 2019
  • Become a professional business and copywriter by August 1st, 2019 (by obtaining first paying client)
  • Establish processes for lead capturing
  • Develop client experience workflow from prospect to final delivery of product

Long Term Goals (a year or longer)

  • Be able to quit day job and go full time freelance by December 31st, 2020

What Went Right This Week

  • I contemplated my goals and wrote them out
  • Was able to find relief in a job opportunity that didn't happen
  • Found renewed focus in my goals by identifying and eliminating distractions to those goals
  • Kept 'inbox zero' at work

What Can Be Done Better Next Week

  • Take note of my stated goals and actively work toward them
  • Show more patience towards others, especially towards less than cooperative co-workers

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Jay's Journal
All posts