And and With, Formal and Informal

1. And, With

When do you use 같이 (together), and how do you use it in a sentence? I was looking for example sentences on Tatoeba.

I know that to indicate doing something "with a friend" is 친구하고 .

Example: 친구하고 먹었어요. (I ate with a friend.)

But we first learnt that 하고 means "and" for connecting nouns. And the formal version of 하고 is 와/과 (depending on whether there is a Batchim; this is the one with the "inverse" rule).

I looked at Tatoeba and on the first page of results saw this sentence: 친구와 같이 텔레비전에서 축구시합을 봅니다.

Translation: I watch a football match on television with my friend. (together with my friend?)

So the question in my mind was: Does it also mean that the formal "와/과" for "and" also means "with", but the formal form?

2. Formal, Informal

Being more studious now (after that wake-up call last lesson), I have been reading up more on my own.

According to How to Study Korean, this is what it says about the first person singular pronoun:

저 = I, me (formal)
나 = I, me (informal)

I've not learnt 나 in class yet. But reading the textbook while trying to do my homework, I realise it was used in one sample journal entry.

Is it weird that for our sentences they start with formal 저(는), but then have a verb that ends with the polite casual/informal -요? (The tense is called 해요체 according to Wiktionary.)

I had this question before when we learnt about 하고 and 와/과 with the meaning "and".

I found it weird that sentences using the formal 와/과 would end with -요 instead of the formal polite tense (하십시오체), that ends with -ᆸ니다 (at least in the imperative, according to Wiktionary again).

Does this notion of formal/informal not have to be consistent between the nouns/conjunctions and the verbs? Are they a different dimension of formality? Or is it because this system is complex that they don't burden beginners with it?


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from journey
All posts