Peechay Hutt - Day 47

(Credits - Coke Studio)

I’ll paint a picture jaisey tu meri khabron ke neechay

Agey ki sochoon mai ab tu meray peechay peechay

Rawani toh dekho na kitni bimisaal hai

Wazan rakhtey alfaaz, yehi toh kamal hai..

Sound familiar? These were the opening lines of Coke Studio’s song PEECHAY HUTT.

Now I want to get into the rap section. The reason I like this rap section a lot is because Hassan Raheem, the singer, expresses his short but sweet musical journey through this, and for those of us that have been following his music since the past few years, it’s really amazing to have been able to witness his growth, which he states in these lines. Also notice how he’s incorporated words from Pashto and Shina, as well as mixing English and Urdu in his rap in the first place.

So let’s break it down, as a fun exercise, and translate the lyrics. Coke Studio’s translation is out there too but I find it too wordy, and I wanted a simpler, more direct translation for it, so here we go.

پیچھے ہٹ پیچھے ہٹ میری بات مان

[Back off, back off, listen to me now]

گائکی شوبہ میرا لگیں چار چاند

[My musical career is splendid

‘Chaar chaand lagana’ is an idiom meaning something beautiful and wonderful becomes even more so]

Flex بچے نہیں state کروں facts میں

[I’m not flexing here kid, just stating the facts]

اکیلا کافی میں نہیں چاہئیں مجھے چار پانچ

[I’m enough alone, don’t need 4-5 (a couple more)]

Ft مرضی جتنے تُو لے ft لے

[No matter how many songs you’re featured on (on ft)]

نیت صاف کہتی حسن سب سے sweet ہے

[My intention is clean, she says Hassan is the sweetest]

زمانہ سُنے گیت یہی اصل جیت ہے

[The world listens to my songs, that’s the real win]

داجی پھس جگو کاری میری پیٹھ ہے

[(Shina) I turn my back on those jealous of me]

ادریکا! مڑاں are you tryna move me

[(Pashto) Stop! yaara, are you tryna move me?]

کچھ عرصے پہلے all of you barely knew me

[A little while ago all of you barely knew me]

New wave I see all you groovin'

This wave's gonna hit the charts نجومی میں

[This wave's gonna hit the charts I’m a fortune-teller]

Now watch me hit the fifth gear

تیرے سارے اپنے میری side پے dear

[All of your loved ones are on my side, dear]

کام بولے، بلا وجہ سے یہ ہوتا نہیں

[My work speaks, this doesn’t happen without reason]

Justin Bibis ساتھ now, take it away!

[Justin Bibis with me, now take it away]


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Nida Q Khan • ندا قاسم خان
All posts