negativity

Had an interesting moment a couple minutes ago. I was watching a video of someone talking about things that I'm interested in but doing a way better job of presenting it (or at least that's the thought that crossed my mind in that moment) and a follow-up thought passed by that was essentially putting me down. Something like "man, I suck."

And in that moment I saw myself sitting there and I saw the thought, and I decided not to believe it. I let it float by with only a slight ripple of negative feeling before taking another breath and returning to neutrality. I understood where it came from and what it was doing so it wasn't able to take hold and pull me into the mud like it might have in the past.

I guess it's a sign of progress. I've spent most of my life being beaten to shit by these kinds of thoughts. An old record that might finally be losing its appeal.

More from reflectivesun
All posts