prayer

Prayer has so far played a minimal part in my life. Even after opening spiritually, I've tended to lean towards accepting what unfolds without asking for specific things. The closest I get to prayer is when I'm feeling a lot of gratitude and am compelled to give silent thanks.

I was just presented with some eye opening thoughts though, one of them being that prayer is an opportunity to drop the roles we play in the world and just be completely honest, open and genuine without any fear of possible repercussion, judgement or punishment. Upon considering this, it occured to me that it's really one of the few bastions of that kind available. A space where you can drop all pretenses, expectations, ambitions and bullshit in general and truly express whatever it is that's on your mind or in your heart. As well as, in my experience so far, actually get a response.

Personally, upon experimenting with this, I've been surprised by what comes back. So far the general tone has been clear, calm, receptive, encouraging, stable, patient, insightful and accepting. Pretty cool to realize that this kind of dialogue is always available to me. I look forward to leaning into it more.

More from reflectivesun
All posts