simplicity

I was just lying in bed processing a situation in my life that feels overly complicated, to the point that I can't seem to really figure out how to respond to it. It involves a relationship with someone whose past decisions have created chaos and mistrust that's bled over into my life/mind through association with them. Thinking about it really makes me see how, at least for me, simplicity is essential to peace of mind. Anything overly complicated like that, that involves figuring out what's true and what's not and what their motivations are and what the consequences of engagement will be and what to say and not to say and yada yada yada, it just causes the mind to turn and turn and turn to no end. It can't ever seem to land anywhere because there are factors that aren't adding up, that make the mind second-guess and re-evaluate at every turn.

For my part, I'll continue moving towards simplicity. It can be tempting to complicate things and fill my plate with even more to do and think about and process, partly in an attempt to escape the emotional discomfort that can come from ruminating and overthinking, but I'll try to keep this in mind. Spaciousness is more valuable than stuff. Simplicity will go a longer way towards clarity, peace, happiness, fulfillment, growth and all that good shit than overloading the body/mind with things to do, think about and work through.

In some cases I suppose it's best to let go completely, give it to the universe to unfold as it will and just respond to situations as they come. Stop trying to figure out and make things happen and improve the situation. Stop giving all this energy to it and just say fuck it and do something else instead. It's just not a useful situation to direct attention and energy towards. It seems the mind is compelled to organize, classify, comprehend and resolve but when things aren't adding up due to dishonesty it's just not going to happen.

It's bringing to mind times in my life when I've been reluctant to tell the truth out of fear of hurting feelings or being judged/rejected/abandoned. All in all, it seems it's better for everyones wellbeing in the longrun to be honest and forthright even if it'll be disappointing or painful in the moment.

More from reflectivesun
All posts