Outriders

Holy crap, Outriders is amazing. I have been playing it for the past 2 days (I used New Zealand as my location on Xbox), and I am enjoying the heck out of it. I already finished the story on one character and I am running through it again on another one. People Can Fly has done an outstanding job with this one.

PCF does not have the greatest track record for stories in games. The Bulletstorm story was utter trash. The writing was laughable and, well, it just was not something that I could invest my time into. Outriders has changed all that.

I won’t get into details regarding the story because I do not want to spoil it but, I liked it. It was an enjoyable romp through a scifi world. There were a few things that I did not see coming. It was cool. I really enjoyed it and am hoping PCF keeps the content flowing to this game.

The character I started with was the Devastator class. It is Outriders “Tank” class. This class is all about rocks, earth, and gravity. If you chose Devastator as your first character, you can expect to be in your enemies’ faces, reflecting bullets, and causing massive earthquakes that send your foes flying. It is a super fun class! Definitely something to get used to as the Devastator is, that you are going to be using cover a lot less than a Pyromancer or Technomancer. It is an interesting class, a cover based shooter with a class that you don’t use cover for? You are literally a human wrecking ball.

Another really cool feature is gearing your character. The equipment in this game actually changes the way you play. There are mods on gear that allow you to do different things, like using a skill twice before it is on cooldown. I really like this for endgame because you can tailor your character to exactly what you want them to do.

Anyway, I am going to get back to playing a bit more. I am having fun although; I am struggling to find people to matchmake with currently. I mean, the game just came out and I am sitting here at endgame wondering why no one is available to play with. I will give it some time and run some expeditions to get new gear.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from russ
All posts