OCD and Buying Useless Stuff

I am terrible with money. I get the ooo shiny feeling whenever I see something new that interests me. It is really becoming a problem that I need to reign in.

I don’t fully blame my OCD for this but, it is a big part of it. I tend to research a ton of stuff all the time to keep my mind busy on things other than my intrusive thoughts. Doing this causes me to find something that I want to buy, then, I buy it. It makes me feel like crap because I am taking away chances for my wife and daughter to get things, or even to save.

I have to stop this. This is not good and I need to find another avenue to spend my time. Blowing money is not fair to anyone and I have to get it under control. I am considering canceling my credit cards and going all debit. Can’t spend money with one of those that you don’t have!

Sorry for the ranting. I am just beating myself up over this today. Hopefully, this is a wake up call that will finally get me to change my habits. I am almost feeling like this may be a compulsion. I research to get away from intrusive thoughts, then I buy something to make me feel better. I wonder what my therapist would say about this. Might be time to schedule an appointment.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from russ
All posts