UL: 2020-05-13 Wake up and smell the coffee

Wake up and smell the coffee.

As I sit here at 07.54 drinking my morning coffee it is apparent that this is the new normal. There is no going back.

  • Furlough until October
  • Country bankrupted
  • Empty office buildings
  • No return to travel

Resistance is futile. People really don't give a shit that this is happening. Rather the fear has made them embrace it.

I've given up worrying about it now. I've come to realise most people in this country wont bother reading documents, or doing any research into "the science" - meme's are about as far as they'll get. Plus then for having an a view on things you get labelled a nutter.

Sadly it's also become politically incorrect (and likely career suicide) to publicly challenge the governments' narrative that follows "The Science". That with mass censorship and being labelled "misinformation".

We are witnessing the largest power grab and reboot of capitalism unfolding before our very eyes. It's incredible to watch the experiment progress (except most of us are viewing it as the lab rats).

I plan over the next few months to return to a simpler way of life. I wrote about digital minimalism recently and avoiding the news. I now need to find a way to stop either:

  1. Become more vocal and preach to try and convert people.
  2. Forget about it and just get on with my life.

I'm not very good at doing the preachy thing, so I think I'll just go with the flow. Keep writing in my journal and try to simplify my life. Minimise the clutter and focus on what's important.

So maybe, let's all just wake up and smell the coffee.

More from Winston Smith
All posts