Update 5/28/22

Today was pretty productive. I spent a lot of productive time working on a math competition (OMMC). It wasn't perfect; I wasted some time on YouTube, but it was probably <1 hour. I wanted to install Arch on a different SSD I had to make it my new main PC, but I wanted to make some backups of my current stuff and got sidelined by git and backing stuff up. I also spent a few hours doing college app stuff. I totally forgot to ask my teachers for LORs before school ended. I am torn between which teacher to ask for my STEM LOR; I could pick a counselor from PROMYS (a math summer camp) that I heard gave good recommendations but idt will be very personal, my chemistry teacher who I think can attest to my character development over the year, my calculus teacher who can contribute to a theme I want in my college app, or my stats teacher/UIL coach who can attest to my hard-work and knows me well. RN I'm just hoping that no college I apply to needs a humanities rec too (my English teacher left 3/4s of the year in and my APUSH teacher doesn't know me very well). I'm also hoping that all of them apply supplemental recs. I still need to cut my college list down to ~10 too. Yesterday, my parents started pressuring me not to take calc 3 at a local community college because driving there and back will be tiring. I vehemently disagree with their position because a lot of my senior year classes were chosen around taking these classes, and I want to take these classes as I believe they will be both enjoyable and helped for my future. A friend recently recommended that I talk to my parents about funding my education, but I think I'm gonna try and hold off considering their recent position (they will just push me harder to lower my ambition and go to a cheap college). My dad has been taking extra attention to my sleep schedule recently, hence this post. He has also been pushing me to stop YouTube/Netflix, which I appreciate. But his method has been lecturing, which I don't really like. I'm also planning to get my first credit card next week so that I have a source of money to use when I'm at PROMYS.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Vincent Tran
All posts