[71] Outwitting the Six Basic Fear "Devils"

Napoleon Hill & Neville Goddard

https://youtu.be/euuFVB9upyo

These fears really stem from the paramount fear which is being reactive to a person, environment, circumstance, or information that shows up in a way that takes me off my goal and brings me into a different direction that is not harmonious to what I want to create

Premise

  • Fear is the tool of a man-made devil. Self-confident faith in one's self is both the man-made weapon which defeats this devil and the man-made tool which builds a triumphant life
    • And it is more than that. It is a link to the irresistible forces of the universe which stand behind a man who does not believe in failure and defeat as being anything but temporary experiences
  • Napoleon Hill's Interview with the devil within
    • One of my cleverest devices for mind control is fear. I plant the seed of fear in the minds of people, an das these seeds germinate and grow, through use, I control the space they occupy
    • I get what I want by exercising self-control. It is not so good for my own business, but I suggest you emulate me instead of criticizing me. You call yourself a thinker, and you are. Otherwise, you would never have forced this interview on me. But you will never be the sort of thinker that frightens me unless you gain and exercise greater control over your own emotions

Fear of Poverty

  • Napoleon Hill's Interview with the devil within
    • I have countless ways of gaining control of human minds while they are still on the earth plane. My greatest weapon is poverty. I deliberately discourage people from accumulating material wealth because poverty discourages men from thinking and makes them easy pray for me
    • I teach people to become drifters by causing them to drift out of school into the first job they can find, with no definite aim or purpose except to make a living. Through this trick I keep millions of people in fear of poverty all their lives
  • Fear of poverty is a state of mind, nothing else! But it is sufficient to destroy one's chances of achievement in any undertaking, a truth which became painfully evident during the depression
  • This fear paralyzes the faculty of reason, destroying the faculty of imagination, kills off self-reliance, undermines enthusiasm, discourages initiative, leads to uncertainty of purpose, encourages procrastination, wipes out enthusiasm and makes self-control an impossibility
  • Neville Goddard
    • For instance, in my own case. I find a home that I want. I begin to imagine that I'm living in that home. And then. Doubt sets in
    • With the result that that doubt materializes into a person. And that person has more money than I have, and he buys the home, leaving me out in the cold
    • I know from that experience that every person in my world only reflects a mood in me. Everyone that I meet whether I know them or a stranger who buys a home that I wanted
    • When the doubt sets in, the doubt materializes into a person. I did know him. But he only reflects that mood of doubt in me. So he has brought money and he buys a home and I am out in the cold

Fear of Criticism

  • Napoleon Hill's Interview with the devil within
    • My second best trick is not second at all. It is first!
    • It is first because without it, I never could gain control of the minds of the youths. Parents, schoolteachers, religious instructors, and many other adults unknowingly serve my purpose by helping me to destroy in children the habit of thinking for themselves
    • They go about their work in various ways, never suspecting what they are doing to the minds of children or the real cause of the children's mistakes
  • Symptoms of "Fear of Criticism"
    • Self-Consciousness
    • Generally expressed through nervousness, timidity in conversation and in meeting strangers, awkward movement of the hands and limbs, shifting of the eyes
    • Lack of Poise
    • Expressed through lack of voice control, nervousness in the presence of others, poor posture of body, poor memory
    • Extravagance
    • The habit of trying to "keep up with the Joneses," spending beyond one's income
  • Neville Goddard
    • Always think in clarity of form, for as I do, I am influencing others. When I wanted to get out of Barbados, I didn't think of influencing anyone. I simply used clarity of form and walked up the gangplank in my imagination. That act caused someone five thousand miles away to cancel their passage. And although there were hundreds ahead of me waiting for passage, the one who had the power to distribute the tickets chose us, so I did influence others. I imagined, and we came back, while thousands who preceded us in applying for passage continued to wait their turn

Fear of Ill Health

  • Napoleon Hill's Interview with the devil within
    • My next best friend is ill health. An unhealthy body discourages thinking. Then I have countless of workers on earth who aid me in gaining control of human minds. I have these agents placed in every calling. They represent every race and creed, every religion
  • Symptoms of "Fear of Ill Health"
    • Auto-suggestion
    • The habit of negative use of self-suggestion by looking for, and expecting to find the symptoms of all kinds of disease. "Enjoying" imaginary illness and speaking of it as being real. The habit of trying all "fads" and "isms" recommended by others as having therapeutic value. Talking to others of operations, accidents and other forms of illness., experimenting with diets, physical exercise, reducing systems, without professional guidance. Trying home remedies, patent medicines, and "quack" remedies
    • Hypochondriac
    • The habit of talking of illness, concentrating the mind upon disease, and expecting its appearance until a nervous break occurs. Nothing that comes in bottles can cure this condition. It is brought on by negative thinking and nothing but positive thought can affect a cure. Hypochondria is said to do as much damage on occasion as the disease one fears might do. Most so-called cases of "nerves" comes from imaginary illness
    • Exercise
    • Fear of ill health often interferes with proper physical exercise, and results in over-weight, by causing one to avoid outdoor life

Fear of Loss of Love of Someone

  • Napoleon Hill's Interview with the devil within
    • I cause men and women to drift into marriage without plan or purpose designed to convert the relationship into harmony. Here is one of my most effective methods of converting people into the habit of drifting. I cause married people to bicker and nag one another over money matters
    • I cause them to quarrel over the bringing up of their children
    • I engage them in unpleasant controversies over their intimate relationships and in disagreements over friends and social activities. I keep them so busy finding fault with one another that they never have time to do anything else long enough to break the habit of drifting
  • Symptoms of "Fear of Loss of Love of Someone"
    • Jealousy
    • The habit of being suspicious of friends and loved ones without any reasonable evidence of sufficient grounds. The habit of accusing wife or husband of infidelity without grounds. General suspicion of everyone, absolute faith in no one
    • Fault finding
    • The habit of finding fault with friends, relatives, business associates, and loved ones upon the slightest provocation, or without any cause whatsoever
  • Neville Goddard
    • When I enter the state I desire to express and believe it is true, no earthly power can stop it from objectifying itself
    • And although I do not deliberately influence others, I influence everyone. As Sir James Frazer said: "A man on this planet cannot raise a hand without influencing the farthest star in the heavens in its unified form"

Fear of Old Age

  • Napoleon Hill's Interview with the devil within
    • I control the minds of men solely because of their habit of drifting, which is only another way of saying that I control the minds of men only because they neglect or refuse to control and use their own minds
    • He will lack enthusiasm and initiative to begin anything he is not forced to undertake, and he will plainly express his weakness by taking the line of least resistance whenever he can do so
  • Symptoms of "Fear of Old Age"
    • The habit of speaking apologetically of one's self as "being old" merely because one has reached the age of forty, or fifty, instead of reversing the rule and expressing gratitude for having reached the age of wisdom and understanding
    • The habit of killing off initiative, imagination, and self-reliance by falsely believing one's self too old to exercise these qualities

Fear of Death

  • Symptoms of "Fear of Death"
    • The habit of thinking about dying instead of making the most out of life, due, generally, to lack of purpose, or lack of a suitable occupation
  • This fear is more prevalent among the aged, but sometimes the more youthful are victims of it. The greatest of all remedies for the fear of death is a burning desire for achievement, backed by useful service to others. A busy person seldom has time to think about dying. He finds life too thrilling to worry about death

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts