[81] How to Manifest my Desires

Neville Goddard

https://youtu.be/Pggs-XcxVlw

If there is something tonight that I really want in this world, than experience in imagination what I would experience in the flesh were I to realize my goal, and then deafen my ears, and blind my eyes to all that denies the reality of my assumption

Consciousness is the Only Reality

  • I am incapable of seeing other than the contents of my own consciousness
    • If I now become detached in consciousness from this room by turning my attention away from it, then, I am no longer conscious of it
    • There is something in me that devours it within me. It can only live within my objective world if I keep it alive within my consciousness
  • Simply remove my attention from the region of sensation which at this moment is the room round about me, and I concentrate my attention on that which I want to put in its place, that which I want to make real
    • In concentrating on my objective, the secret is to bring it here. I must make elsewhere here and then now. Imagine that my objective is so close that I can feel it
  • However, this simple formula for changing the future, which was discovered by the ancient teachers and given to us in the Bible, can be proved by all
    • The first step in changing the future is Desire, that is, define my objective. Know definitely what I want
    • Second, construct an event which I believe would encounter following the fulfillment of my desire, an event which implied fulfillment of my desire, something which will have the action of self predominant
    • The third step is to immobilize the physical body and induce a state akin to sleep. Then, mentally feel myself right into the proposed action, imagine all the while that I am actually performing the action here and now. I must participate in the imaginary action, not merely stand back and look on, but feel that I am actually performing the action, so that the imaginary sensation is real to me

Assumptions Harden into Fact

  • Although man may not be able to stand physically upon a state, he can always stand mentally upon any desired state. By standing mentally, I mean that I can now, this very moment, close my eyes and visualize a place other than my present one, and assume that I am actually there. I can feel this to be so real that upon opening my eyes I am amazed to find that I am not physically there
    • This mental journey into the desired state, with its subsequent feeling of reality, is all that is necessary to bring about its fulfillment. My dimensionally greater self has ways that the lesser, or three-dimensional me, know not of. Furthermore, to the greater me, all means are good which promote the fulfillment of my assumption
    • Remain in the mental state defined as my objective until it has the feeling of reality, and all the forces of heaven and earth will rush to aid its embodiment. My greater self will influence the actions and words of all who can be used to aid the production of my fixed mental attitude
  • When I assume the feeling of my wish fulfilled it is with a minimum of effort. I must control the direction of the movements of my attention. But I must do it with the least effort. If there is effort in the control, and I am compelling it in a certain wait I am not going to get the results. I will get the opposite results, whatever they might be
  • The minute I begin to discipline my mind by observing my thoughts and watching my thoughts throughout the day, I become the policeman of my thoughts. Refuse to enter int conversations that are unlovely, refuse to listen attentively to anything that tears me down

Think Fourth-Dimensionally

  • To the natural mind, reality is confined to the instant called now; this very moment seems to contain the whole of reality, everything else is unreal. With the natural mind, the past and the future are purely imaginary
    • In other words, my past, when I use the natural mind, is only a memory image of things that were. And to the limited focus of the carnal or natural mind, the future does not exist. The natural mind does not believe that it could revisit the past and see it as something that is present, something that is objective and concrete to itself, neither does it believe that the future exists
  • To the Christ mind, the spiritual mind, which in my language I will call the fourth-dimensional focus, the past, the present, and the future of the natural mind are a present whole. It take sin the entire array of sensory impressions that man has encountered, is encountering and will encounter
  • As my mind is cleansed of my former concept of self, I assume that I am what I want to be, and remaining faithful to this assumption, I give form to my assumption or resurrect my child
  • Man is a psychological being, a thinker. It is not what he feeds upon physically, but what he feeds upon mentally that he becomes. I become the embodiment of that which I mentally feed upon
  • Feast on the idea, become identified with the idea as though I were already that embodied state. Walk in the assumption that I am what I want to be. If I feast on that and remain faithful to that mental diet, I will crystallize it. I will become it in this world
  • I can either be attentive to the limitations and feed these and make them mountains, or I can be attentive to my desires; but to become attentive I must assume me to already that which I wanted to be

No One to Change but Self

  • I become what I contemplate. For it is the nature of love, as it is the nature of hate, to change me into the likeness of that which I contemplate
  • It is easier living when I could blame another. But to tell me that I am the cause of all that happens to me that I am forever molding my world in harmony with my inner nature, that is more than man is willing to accept. If this is true., to whom would I go? If these are the words of eternal life, I must return to them, even though they seem so difficult to digest
    • When man fully understands this, he knows that public opinion does not matter, for men only tell him who he is. The behavior of men constantly tell me who I have conceived myself to be
    • If I accept this challenge and begin to live by it, I finally reach the point that is called the great prayer of the Bible. "I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do." (John 17:4)
  • I will change the world only when I become the embodiment of that which I want the world to be. I have but one gift in this world that is truly mine to give and that is myself. Unless I myself am that which I want the world to be, i will never see it in this world
  • My mystical experiences have convinced me that there I no way to bring about the perfection I seek other than by the transformation of myself. As son as I succeed in transforming myself, the world will melt magically before my eyes and reshape itself fin harmony with that which my transformation affirms
  • I fashion the world that surrounds me by the intensity of my imagination and feeling, and I illuminate or darken my life by the concepts I hold of myself. Nothing is more important to me than my conception of myself, and especially is true of my concept of the deep, dimensionally greater One within me
  • Those that help or hinder me, whether they know it or not, are the servants of that law which shapes outward circumstances in harmony with my inner nature. It is my conception of myself which frees or constrains me, though it may use material agencies to achieve its purpose

Remain Faithful to my Idea

  • I cannot find a cause outside of my own consciousness. My world is a grant mirror constantly telling me who I am. As I meet people, they tell me by their behavior who I am
  • Many people, myself included, have observed events before they occurred; that is, before they occurred in this world of three dimensions. Since man can observe an event before it occurs in the three dimensions of space, then life on earth proceeds according to plan; and this plan must exist elsewhere in another dimension and is slowly moving through our space
  • The habit of seeing only that which my senses permit renders me totally blind to what, otherwise, I could see. To cultivate the faculty of seeing the invisible, I should often deliberately disentangle my mind from the evidence of the senses and focus my attention on an invisible state, mentally feeling it and sensing it until it has all the distinctness of reality

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Andrew Bouras
All posts