The First Advice

Tuesday, 3 Oct 2023


Speaking of the three pieces of advice I mentioned earlier, I'll talk about the first one. I received this advice from my dear friend, who also has my name, Hafiz. Hi, Bujei. Thank you for advising me. You gave me this advice 8 years ago, and I remember it distinctly. I visited you in Kuala Terengganu right after our graduation ceremony in IBMCKK. It was sometime in August. My family went back to Kuala Lumpur a couple of days earlier than me because I decided to stay a day in Kuala Terengganu. It was my first and only time visiting Terengganu. We visited a market and a mini mosque park, kind of like a Mini Europe with popular mosques all over the world instead. Then, we visited Crystal Mosque, which was smaller than I expected but still quite nice. You might remember that night, there was a mosque where UAI (Ustaz Azhar Idrus) came to give a lecture (between Maghrib and Isyak).

I don't remember exactly when, but I'm pretty sure you gave me this advice while we were in Kuala Terengganu. You told me, 'Just don't give up.' I don't recall the exact context that led to you giving me that advice, but it stuck with me. It's a very simple and basic piece of advice, yet it means a lot, especially coming from someone I respect. That's one of the pieces of advice I still hold dear to my heart. Whenever I feel down or like giving up, I think about that advice. That's the first of the three pieces of advice I'll talk about. Hopefully, that's enough for now. I really appreciate it. Thank you for listening. I tend to talk a lot, so bye.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Hafiz
All posts