Digital Minimalism

Thursday, 26 Oct 2023


As usual, I feel the need to share something. There's been someone who's consistently looked down on me, almost like a daily routine. It's quite literal because it's my phone's lock screen. If you were to see my phone, it's there. Sorry if the focus isn't cooperating; it might be because I'm on the screen. It's me looking down on myself. I thought setting this image as my lock screen would help me use my phone less, but that hasn't really worked.

The one thing that has reduced my screen time significantly is using my phone in grayscale or black and white. That change made a massive difference. I went from spending around 6 to 7 hours on my phone every day to just 2 to 3 hours.

This shift came about after I read Cal Newport's book, "Digital Minimalism". He suggested eliminating unnecessary devices and optional items from your life, like secondary phones, music players, and anything with a screen. I tried that approach, and it included getting rid of apps that I didn't use frequently, especially social media apps.

Instagram, for example, fell into the category of unnecessary apps. After about a month, I reintroduced some of these apps, but with a specific purpose in mind. I made sure I had a clear intention for using each one.

Now, my overall screen time has gone up to an average of 4 to 5 hours. However, each of the apps I use serves a specific purpose, and I find value in them.

The main point I want to emphasize in this video is that there's someone who has been looking down on me, and that someone is me. Yeah, I know, it's a bit of a silly joke. Sorry about that.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Hafiz
All posts