Readwise Highlight 2: Un rien peut tout changer (Mindset Change when Performing Ibadah)

Thursday, 26 Oct 2023


I've got a Readwise highlight that might be appropriate for what I just said about short-term benefits of doing ibadah, like, changing your mindset when it comes to doing ibadah. But this is in French. (From James Clear's book "Un rien peut tout changer"). I will translate it into English later.

Image 1

Kita dah terbiasa sangat dengan perkara yang kita dah berkali-kali buat, benda yang kita selalu buat sehingga kita lupa nak tanya diri kita sendiri, "Adakah cara ini cara yang terbaik untuk kita capai sesuatu impian?"

We never stop to ask ourselves whether it's the best way to do that specific thing. This is because we have arbitrary habits, and we get used to doing something the same way over and over again. We never stop and ask ourselves, 'Is this the best way to do things?' So, that's why I decided to change my mindset when it comes to doing ibadah. Rather than seeing it as a burden, as a must for me, a requirement for me to do this every day, an obligation, I'll see it as something like this: It's a way for me to get away from the world and find a form of respite from all the noise in the world. It's a way for me to relax, take a step back, and just breathe. Maybe that will help me change. It's like a reset button. We have about five reset buttons in a day, which is great.

Of course, it's a must for all Muslims to pray, but maybe you can find some short-term benefits associated with doing it. Selalunya aku dengar orang-orang barat selalu beritahu, "Oh yeah, I do meditation every day because it helps me be in the present." We as Muslims have solutions within the teachings of Islam, unlike in the West, where they look elsewhere other than their religion to solve problems. In Islam, we have many solutions to our problems; we just don't bother to look for them. We don't bother to search for them in Islam, even though there are solutions that are being provided to us. We just have to open our eyes and look for them.

So, it's not a short video, but that's it. Sorry. Bye.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Hafiz
All posts