Asymmetrical Friendship (Opinion)

Monday, 6 Nov 2023


I'm feeling frustrated with one-sided friendships where I'm the one constantly initiating contact and showing interest. To take control of my life, I've started spring cleaning my contacts, especially with many of my language partners. While I value the connections I've made, I realize our schedules don't align, and we haven't talked for months. So, I've sent them messages expressing my gratitude for our past interactions and explaining that we're both busy. Most people didn't respond, indicating their lack of interest in maintaining the friendship. Some, however, replied defensively, claiming they want to talk but not making an effort.

As for my real-life friendships, I'll be more cautious. If I'm the only one initiating conversations and receiving brief responses, I'll gradually reduce my communication. I won't cut ties completely, but I'll step back and let them initiate if they want to continue the friendship. I consider them my brothers in Islam, but I can't invest time and energy in one-sided relationships. If they want to reconnect, the effort will need to come from their side. I'm moving on from small talk and done with it. So, if they wish to rekindle the connection, the ball is in their court. Bye bye.

Full video:


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from Hafiz
All posts