To Know

I was revising on Anki and 알다 came up. It means to know, and I wondered if there is a difference between to know (knowledge/learnt information) and to know (people/things) in Korean.

In the other languages I've learnt, I know this distinction exists. I first encountered it in French with connaître (people) and savoir (knowledge). Italian has conoscere and sapere. German has kennen and wissen.

Then I thought about Mandarin Chinese, and I realise it has that distinction too, 认识 (people) and 知道 (information). (So I should know that such a distinction exists even before I started with French.)

Korean's 알다 seems to indicate knowledge of information... I'm not sure if there's a different word for knowing people...

Is English the odd one out?


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from journey
All posts