Lesson 103 (Pre-Advance 1 Lesson 1)

This is two weeks overdue.

This was the first lesson at the new timing and the class size effectively. It started with self-intro (as I expected). Seems like even on the other side, most people did not prepare anything. I had a few sentences that I wrote but I ended up not using most of it, but instead kept it simple.

We went through the first two grammar points in Chapter 17, then did textbook for the vocab. It is such a leisurely pace, I am shocked, but even then, I think it is exactly what I need too. I barely got the homework done in time, and this post is obviously late.

Grammar

1. V-아다/어다 주다

This is used when the subject does something for others.

We have seen something similar with V-아/어 주다.

ㅏ,ㅗ O ㅏ,ㅗ X 하다
사다 → 사다 줘요 빌리다 → 빌려다 줘요 하다 → 해다 줘요

There are some fixed expressions that you would use with this:

  1. (object)을/를 사다 주다 (드리다)
  2. (object)을/를 빌려다 주다 (드리다)
  3. (person)을/를 (place)에/까지 데려다 주다 (모셔다 드리다1)

In brackets are the forms you use to respect the person. 드리다 is used instead of 주다.

What is the difference between 사 주다 and 사다 주다?

  • 사 주다 means that you are asking someone to buy something for you, and they pay for it.
  • 사다 주다 means someone else is someplace else2 (e.g. café) and you request that they help you buy something, but you pay them later for helping you with the purchase.

For 빌려 주다 and 빌려다 주다:

  • 빌려 주다 is to request someone lend you something of theirs; you want to borrow something from them.
  • 빌려다 주다 is a request for someone to help you borrow something (e.g. a book from the library).

Examples:

  1. 집에 올 때 빵 좀 사다 주세요. (When you come home, please help me buy bread.)
  2. 도서관에 가면 책 좀 빌려다 줄 수 있어요? (If you go to the library, can you help me borrow a book?)
  3. 민수 야, 물 좀 갖다 줄래? 네, 갖다 드릴게요. (Minsu, can you bring me some water? Yes, I’ll get you some.)
  4. 아이를 학교에 데려다 줬어요. (I brought/fetched my child to school.)
  5. 할머니를 댁까지 모셔다 드렸어요. (I brought/fetched grandmother home.)

2. V-(으)ㄹ 뻔하다

This is used to indicate a close call or an action that almost occurred. In most cases, it is used to express the speaker’s relief that the event or action did not happen.

Since it usually describes something in the past, it is often used in the past tense.

It is often used with 하마터면, which means “almost” or “nearly”.

받침 X, ㄹ + ㄹ 뻔했어요 받침 O + 을 뻔했어요
다치다 → 다칠 뻔했어요 죽다 → 죽을 뻔했어요

Examples:

  1. (하마터면) 버스에서 가방을 놓고 내릴 뻔했어요. (I almost left my bag on the bus.)
  2. 요리하다가 손가락을 다칠 뻔했어요. (I almost hurt my finger while cooking.)
  3. 기차를 놓칠 뻔했는데 타서 다행이에요. (I almost missed the train, so it’s a relief that I managed to get on.)

Vocabulary

Korean English Notes
사고가 나다 to have an accident 事故
이 나다 to have a fire break out
고장이 나다 to break down 故障
큰일이 나다 to have a big problem
잃어버리다 to lose sth
떨어뜨리다 to drop sth
부딪히다 to bump into
넘어지다 to fall over
놓치다 to miss
정신이 없다 to be out of one’s senses 精神
열리다 to be open
깜빡 졸다 to nod off
서다 to stand
걸리다 to be hung
하얀색 (흰색) white
까만색 (검은색) black
회색 grey 灰色
빨간색 red
홍색 red Used by older generation, do not use it unless you want people to say that you learnt Korean from a grandmother (할머니).
노란색 yellow
파란색 blue
청색 blue Used by older generation
초록색(녹색 green 草綠色
연두색 yellow-green 軟豆色
주황색 orange 朱黃色
오렌지색 orange alternative to 주황색 that young people use today
분홍색 pink 粉紅色
핑크색 pink alternative to 분홍색 that people use today
보라색 purple
자주색 purple Used by older generation, do not use it unless you.
갈색 brown
하늘색 sky blue
와인색 maroon colour of (red) wine
줄무늬 striped pattern
가로 줄무늬 horizontal striped pattern
세로 줄무늬 vertical striped pattern
체크무늬 checkered pattern
꽃무늬 flowered pattern
물방울무늬 polka dots
하얀색에 파란색 물방울무늬 blue polka dots on a white background
(장소)에 데려다 주다 to fetch (accompany) someone to a place 아이를 학교에 데려다 줬어요.
(장소)에 모셔다 드리다 to fetch (accompany) someone to a place (honorific) 할머니를 병원에 모셔다 드렸어요.
손가락 finger
골목 alley 골목에서 갑자기 차가 나와서 부딪힐 뻔했어요.
놓고 내리다 to leave and alight To forget something on some form of transportation. 버스에서 가방을 놓고 내릴 뻔했어요.
떨다 to shiver (due to cold)
마감 deadline 보고서 마감

Homework

Realised when checking the homework that I am not in the KakaoTalk group for this new lesson. Not sure if the rest were added.

  • Chapter 17 Worksheet for Grammar points 1–2 (p. 152–157)

Stats

  • Students: 10 out of 11 (one from the original class did not attend, no idea who)

  1. Not 데려다 드리다 

  2. The difference in location was not explicitly mentioned in class, but while doing the homework, I searched up more information and I found out that this difference in location is another differentiating factor. V-아다/어다 주다 implies that there is a different location where the action takes place. But it ties in with the examples and fixed expressions. 


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from journey
All posts