Lesson 109 (Pre-Advance 1 Lesson 7)

I started this note the day after the original lesson but never finished it. And I have 6 lessons after this to cover until today. The next lesson is the pre-advanced test. I have decided to include the date for my own sanity. However, I am uncertain about keeping this format in future. I think using Obsidian may be better, but I have been neglecting that too. Once I settle these and make sense of things, I will decide how things will go.

Actually, this post should have been also pretty short (but in the end it is not, because the grammar point has quite a lot of detail). We still have not touched the textbook, but the entire lesson was still in the handout, covering and practising indirect speech.

The invoice for the next term was sent in the week before this lesson, but I had not yet paid. Turned out to be a good thing because there was actually a discount from the last round due to a shorter lesson. I had forgotten as well.

Grammar

3A Chapter 1. We continue with the first grammar point.

1. Indirect Speech (간접 화법)

A-다고 하다, V-는/ㄴ다고 하다, and N(이)라다고 하다.

받침 X 받침 O
A 크다 → 크다고 해요 작다 → 작다고 해요
V 가다 → 간다고 해요 먹다 → 먹는다고 해요
N 친구 → 친구라고 해요 책 → 책이라고 해요

This is very similar to the 서술체 form. It is the same for adjectives and verbs. The only difference is with the nouns, where it is 라고 and not 다고.

다고 is used always for quoting statements, not questions.

There is no big difference between using present tense 해요 and past tense 했어요. It is not as strict as compared to English. Both are fine.

Present Tense: Adjective/있다/없다 + -다고 하다

  • 좋다 → 좋다고 했어요
  • 바쁘지 않다 → 바쁘지 않다고 했어요
  • 있다 → 있다고 했어요
Original Statement Indirect Speech
“지금 기분이 좋아요.” 지금 기분이 좋다고 했어요.
“머리가 아파요.” 머리가 아프다고 했어요.
“핵이 무거워요.” 핵이 무겁다고 했어요.

Present Tense: Verb + -는/ㄴ다고 하다

  • 좋아하다 → 좋아한다고 했어요
  • 읽다 → 읽는다고 했어요
Original Statement Indirect Speech
“점심 때 보통 김밥을 먹어요.” 점심 때 보통 김밥을 먹는다고 했어요.
“주말마다 친구를 만나요.” 주말마다 친구를 만난다고 했어요.
“켈리 씨는 책을 읽지 않아요.” 켈리 씨는 책을 읽지 않***는다고 했어요*.

Present Tense: Noun + (이)라고 하다

Original Statement Indirect Speech
유진: “저는 한국 사람이에요.” 유진 씨는 한국 사람이라고 했어요.
웨슬리: “제 직업은 의사입니다.” 웨슬리 씨는 직업1 의사라고 했어요.
한스: “오늘이 제 새일이에요.” 한스 씨는 오늘이 (한스 씨)2 생일이라고 했어요.

Past Tense: Verb/Adjective + -았/었다고 하다, Noun + -였/이었다고 하다

The past tense is not different to what we have seen before.

  • 가다 → 갔다고 했어요
  • 먹다 → 먹었다고 했어요
  • 바쁘다 → 바빴다고 했어요
  • 학생이다 → 학생이었다고 했어요
  • 의사다 → 의사였다고 했어요
Original Statement Indirect Speech
유진: “어제 일했어요.” 유진 씨는 어제 일했다고 했어요.
웨슬리: “주말에 집에서 쉬었어요.” 웨슬리 씨는 주말에 집에서 쉬었다고 했어요.
한스: “어제 제 새일이에요.” 한스 씨는 어제 생일이었고 했어요.

Future Tense: Verb/Adjective + -을/ㄹ 거라고 하다, Noun + -일 거라고 하다

Since present tense 이에요/예요 becomes (이)라], when you have the future tense V-(으)ㄹ 거예요, the “예요” part is changed in the same way. Hence, you have 거라고 하다.

  • 가다 → 갈 거라고 했어요
  • 먹다 → 먹을 거라고 했어요
Original Statement Indirect Speech
유진: “내일이 친구를 만날 거예요.” 유진 씨는 내일은 친구를 만날 거라고 했어요.
웨슬리: “영화를 볼 거예요.” 웨슬리 씨는 영화를 볼 거라고 했어요.

Vocabulary

Korean English Notes
경제학 economics
컴퓨터 공학 computer engineering
휴학 leave of absence; time off from school 休學. Apparently it is quite common for Korean students to take a gap year after their first or second year of studies. The student who return from such a leave are called 복학생. Naturally, they will be older than their new classmates, and those from their original batch might already be graduating.
군대에 가다 to enlist; to enter the military
반응 reaction 反應
설마요. 그럴 리가요. No way!
말도 안 돼요. It’s nonsense.
어쩐지 No wonder.
누가 그래요? Who told you so?

Homework

  • 3A Chapter 1 Worksheet, p. 21 to 25, except p. 23
  • 3A Chapter 1 Handout, p. 5 to 7

Stats

  • Date: Jan 22
  • Students: 10 out of 11 (1 from the other class originally, and was my breakout room partner the lesson before this)
  • Breakout room activities: Three, random pairs, but were all from my old class

  1. This is changed from 은 to 이 because this is now the inner clause. 은 would be unnatural.  

  2. A classmate asked whether it is possible to use 그. The teacher said that 그 for “he” is rarely used it speech, only in writing. You might write in a journal: 그의 생일이라고 했다


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from journey
All posts