knowing

The movement from external knowledge to internal knowing. From external seeking to internal meeting...

Knowledge taken in from "out there" always comes in the form of thoughts to be added to the mental database as ideas. It doesn't have experiential reality. It's composed of words that are carried and projected onto phenomena.

Experiential reality is visceral, immediate and ultimately indefinable. This is all that can truly be known. And it may be all that's needed. The world is transformed from here.

What would the world be if all ideas were surrendered and experience was just encountered? If I trusted myself to know what to do with it? If I trusted that inner knowing would guide me without the need for mental evaluation? If I trusted whatever responses arose in the moment without imposing judgements based on the ideas I'm carrying? Based on the words that are perpetually crossing my mind? What if I just ignored them? Let them float by and continued encountering and experiencing? Just meeting and feeling the visceral, immediate and indefinable something going on beneath/beyond all the ideas?

More from reflectivesun
All posts