Day 45: Still

My world is lonely today.

Lonely wrapped in a heartache.

The decision was made yesterday and Snugglepuss agreed.

With his old body of flesh and bones and his head buried in the crook of my arm he purred and sang the song of goodbye, and let me know that his life had been enough.

Our life together needed to become a memory.

I cried.

I cried harder.

And then we made the drive to an office that held the elixir of death.

I stayed with him as slowly the needle and its contents showed how simple it was to end life.

The hardest part was for me to let him go.

I have had a cat die. I have had another one put to sleep.

But Snugglepuss was different.

I am not ashamed to say that he was the best companion I've ever had.

And if I have a regret, it's that I feel that I never gave him more than he gave me.

I'm still here Snuggles.

And you are too.


You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from the kirkyard
All posts