Lesson 53 (Beginner 3B Lesson 5): A Longer Post than Usual

We went through the mistakes for the test at the start. This was significantly shorter than in the past, so I take it to mean that everyone else did very well. I did better than expected again. There was one question which I thought I had gotten wrong but it turned out that my answer was correct... so it's a bit scary but now it's 3 tests where I've only been penalised for the essay/oral components and I'm just going to keep pressuring myself...

But that's for another time to worry about. I think the next test will be in February at the earliest, since this test was 3 months from the last one. However, next week is a public holiday, so there's no class. There's bound to be a break during Christmas as well, like last year. So I think it's more likely that the test is in mid-February, at the earliest.

We had a new student join the class. He's still a university student, so I guess he might be the youngest? I'm not certain... the previously youngest student in the class was... well, it depends on which year he is in, I guess. It's possible due to national service that he is older than she is... I think he had learnt Korean elsewhere and took a placement test.

We spent the lesson going through the handout for this chapter, which was the vocabulary and then the first 2 grammar points. That meant there is quite a fair bit of homework in the homework sheet, and the teacher also gave us another 2 pages to do in the handout itself.

Chapter 14 is about clothes.

With the vocab she made us make sentences with the adjectives. She spared me though, near the end. Not sure if it was intentional or not, but I'm grateful. For the first two sentences I was used as an example... for the adjectives "cute" and "smart"... For the "cute" one that came from the youngest student, I guess she can't call any of the guys in the class "cute", and since I'm the younger of the remaining two students... Then my friend continued and said I was smart. That kind of adds pressure, I don't really think I'm that smart (seriously, work with my colleagues and some of them are the definition of smart), just... I guess for some things I put more effort into it, and then it pays off in the end.

We only had one breakout room for this session, and it was in a group of 3. The new student and the other girl (the younger one) was in the main room with the teacher.

I'm in quite a dilemma about how to tag my Anki cards... I realised I have nothing tagged in Beginner 3B. That's because we started chapter 13 while it was still Beginner 3A. The thing is, 3B is technically this term, but at the same time, we are really doing Beginner 4A since the test is over. The teacher has called the Zoom room Beginner 4... I'm probably going to continue labelling the lessons here following 8 lessons = 1 term (A or B). But in my cards... I tagged chapter 14 as Beginner 4A.

One day the inconsistency will be so great, I bet it will come back to bite me. Or I'd just be missing a tag somewhere maybe, like how I'm already missing the Beginner 3B tag.

As for why the Zoom room is numbered 4 and not 4A, maybe she decided to schedule more meetings upfront? I have no idea, in the past the room was 2B, then 3A, then 3B...

Anyway, the breakdown seems to be like this:

  1. Beginner 1: Chapters 1-5
  2. Beginner 2: Chapters 6-9
  3. Beginner 3: Chapters 10-13
  4. Beginner 4: Chapters 14-16?

I'm basing Beginner 4 based on the fact that Chapter 16 is the last for the book, and I... assume we won't be touching the 2A book. However, if we do end at Chapter 16, then the test may come even earlier, since there would only be 3 chapters. I can't tell since the lastest set of notes I've received is only up to Chapter 16. There's a chance that we might just continue to Chapter 1 for the level 2 books.

Vocabulary

Korean English Notes
의복 clothes Sino-Korean word from 衣服, from 衣 (“clothing”) + 服 (“clothing”). Synonym of 옷.
모자 hat
양복 suit
정장 formal clothing bigger category that includes 양복
셔츠 shirt with buttons
티셔츠 T-shirt
블라우스 blouse
원피스 dress "one piece"
코트 coat
바지 pants
반바지 shorts lit. "half pants"
신발 shoes; footwear This term refers to all kinds of shoes, including 운동화, 구두, 슬리퍼, 샌들, ...
스커트/치마 skirt
구두 (formal) shoes
운동화 sneakers sports shoes
슬리퍼 slippers
샌들 sandals
입다 to wear (clothes)
신다 to wear (footwear)
쓰다 to wear (hat, eyeglasses)
목소리 voice
팔다 to sell
놀다 to play
울다 to cry
귀엽다 to be cute
기쁘다 to be happy
길다 to be long
짧다 to be short Describing length.
크다 to be big
작다 to be small
키가 크다 to be tall
키가 작다 to be short Describing height.
낮다 to be low Describing value/height of something.
높다 to be high Can also mean "to be tall" or "to be lofty".
두껍다 to be thick For something flat, e.g. books or clothes. Cannot be used to refer to, say, drinks, such as "a thick coffee"
얇다 to be thin Applies to the same things as 두껍다
단순하다 to be simple The antonym is 복잡하다 ("to be complex", but it also means "to be crowded").
눈이 높다 to have high standards Idiom. Literally, "eyes are high".
눈이 낮다 to have low standards Idiom. Literally, "eyes are low".
얼굴이 두껍다 to be thick-skinned Idiom. Literally, "face is thick".
귀가 얇다 to be easily influenced by others' words Idiom. Literally, "ears are thin".
똑똑하다 to be smart
멋있다 to be stylish
편하다 to be comfortable
불편하다 to be uncomfortable
달다 to be sweet
힘들다 to be hard/tough
건강에 좋다 to be good for health
이사(를) 하다 to move house
밝다 to be bright; to be light e.g. in colour
어둡다 to be dark; to be gloomy
벗다 to take off; to remove (from oneself) e.g. clothes, shoes
두다 to put
들어가다 to go in; to enter 방에 들어가다. Other meanings include: (1) to go to; to attend (a school); (2) to begin
리본 ribbon 리본이 있는 신발 = the shoe with a ribbon
이불 blanket; duvet
슬프다 to be sad
문제 problem; question

Grammar

1. 'ㄹ' 탈락

Back in Lesson 42 we learned 'ㅡ' 탈락, which was the elimination of ㅡ for verb stems that end with that vowel when conjugated with 아/어.

This is something similar, in that it is also an elimination, but the rules are somewhat different.

When the verb or adjective stem ends in ㄹ:

  1. Do not insert '으'.
  2. 'ㄹ' is omitted when followed by a suffix that begins with ㅅ, ㄴ, or ㅂ.

1. Do not insert '으'.

This applies to certain grammar forms with an optional 으 such as A/V-(으)ㄹ 거예요, A/V-(으)세요, and V-(으)ㄹ 까요?. Most recently, we also learnt V-(으)려고 하다.

Actually, this is much like with N(으)로, where if the noun's final consonant is 'ㄹ', we do not add '으' but simply add 로 to it.

Examples:

  1. 살다 + -(으)ㄹ 거예요 → 거예요.
  2. 만들다 + -(으)ㄹ 까요? → 만들까요?
  3. 놀다 + -(으)려고 하다 → 려고 해요.

2. 'ㄹ' is omitted when followed by a suffix that begins with ㅅ, ㄴ, or ㅂ.

Examples:

  1. 살다 + -(으)세요 → 세요.
    • Yes, this is identical to the honorific form/imperative form for 사다 ("to buy").
    • Here Rule #1 comes into play as well.
  2. 팔다 + 네요 → 네요.
  3. 길다 + -습/ㅂ니다 → 니다

The teacher actually gave a very helpful mnemonic device for this section. It's definitely better than the text description I'm going to give here because she actually drew it out and told it like a story. I'm not going to draw it out... and I'm not going to include the screenshots I took here, so here's the text description.

First, you imagine you have... Snoopy. Yeah, Snoopy. But this isn't really Snoopy. It's a "pirated version", so its name is actually "Snooby". Unlike the actual Snoopy, Snooby is very fierce. He likes to chase snakes. When the snake sees Snooby, it runs away. So the image is of a snake (which basically was drawn so it curls around like the letter ㄹ) running away from Snooby (ㅅ, ㄴ, ㅂ).

That image is so effective, I don't think it's going to be easy to forget this.

2. A-(으)ㄴ

This is the present tense modifier for adjectives, which actually modifies the noun that comes after the adjective. The adjective is always before the noun.

(This is amazing because I've been wondering how to do this for quite some time, to add an adjective to a noun to describe it. I can't wait for chapter 15 when we learn how to add verbs to nouns, though I already rougly know how to do it from chancing across the Quizlet deck...)

The rules are:

  1. If there is batchim, add .
  2. If there is no batchim, or if the batchim is ㄹ, add .
    • Recall from the above section, the ㄴ sound causes the omission of ㄹ
  3. If the adjective ends in 있다/없다, add .

(I think the last one is actually just a more specific case of how you do it for verbs. Adding 는 is a special case for these kind of adjectives that look even more like verbs than other adjectives do... but I'm just rambling and these are hypotheses that are unverified.)

Examples:

  1. 작다: 작
  2. 크다:
  3. 재미있다: 재미있
  4. 맛없다: 맛없 [마덤는]

You'll only receive email when they publish something new.

More from journey
All posts